Disneyland Annual Passholder Special Event – Summer Soundsational Parade at Night

One of my favorite perks of finally being a Disneyland Annual Passholder is the ability to attend special events at the parks. Our first taste was the Star Tours preview event back in June, but this time we managed to snag a spot at an event that took place after Disneyland closed to the general public. One more childhood dream complete.

While not everything was open or running we did manage to enjoy ourselves and even took a moment to soak in all the details of the park we normally miss while trying to dodge crowds. I got to step on the exact center of Disneyland, and actually enjoy the moment!

Yet the one thing I was most excited about was getting a front row seat to the Mickey’s Soundsational Parade as it rolled down Main Street at night. Outrageously colorful floats, intricately detailed costumes, all to the remixed beats of beloved Disney themes? I do believe this parade was made for me.

Mickey's Soundsational Parade at Disneyland

As the drum line got louder and closer I couldn’t help but start getting a little giddy. I’ve always loved Disneyland parades, and as I get older I only grow more and more appreciative at the level of detail in everything. From the massive floats to the costumes and characters.

Mickey's Soundsational Parade at Disneyland

Mickey was actually up there playing those drums. How’s that for detail? And just look at the colors. I think the parade looks much better at night.

Mickey's Soundsational Parade at Disneyland

Mickey's Soundsational Parade at Disneyland

Mickey's Soundsational Parade at Disneyland

A giant maraca-wielding purple octopus accompanied Ariel on the Little Mermaid float. Seems like something out of a fever-induced nightmare, but he does make you want to dance a little.

Did I mention I love the detailed costuming? Notice the trim of the dresses, and the French ringlet hairstyles. The very image of a Disney Princess.

Of course I was impressed with Belle’s dress, she is my favorite Princess from my favorite Disney movie. I think the light pink roses are a nice touch to her iconic golden ball gown.

The Lion King float was a giant drum adorned by an animatronic Simba, who let out a loud roar as he passed by, and a stylized Zazu on the front. The monkeys move too fast for my poor little camera, guess I just need a faster lens for next time!

Mickey's Soundsational Parade at Disneyland

I still have not seen Princess and the Frog! Disney makes a movie centered around New Orleans and I completely miss it? What a crime against humanity, I really need to get my hands on a copy. Even without seeing it I’m already in love with Tiana.

What musical parade would be complete without a Mary Poppins tribute?  I loved the almost steampunk vibe this float had, even with the pastel colors and cute characters. I think this was the most detailed display in the parade. A fitting end to a magical event.

After the parade the floats took Main Street back to their holding area instead of going around the outside of the park as usual, which gave everyone a second chance to see everything up close and even interact personally with the costumed Princesses. Some of the floats were left on Main Street for the guests to really appreciate all the fine details and get pictures with the performers. A special moment as a thank you to Annual Passholders.

A Q&A session with some of the key players in the parade’s development was held at the Tomorrowland Terrace as well, but we opted to enjoy the short lines a little bit more. What can I say, we never pass up a chance to compete on Buzz Lightyear’s Astro Blasters.

Overall I had such an amazing time at the event and I cannot wait for the next Passholder special. I hope its another one after park hours. Maybe the special return of the Main Street Electrical Parade?

Well, I can dream anyway.

5 thoughts on “Disneyland Annual Passholder Special Event – Summer Soundsational Parade at Night

  1. Pingback: A Disney Kind of Night « Teknicolor Dahlia

  2. I’m going to have to check that out. I’ve only been a annual pass holder for a couple of years, but living in Northern California I can’t just dash over for the day. But it would be cool if an event was happening at a time I was planning on being there.

    • I hear the Soundsational Parade is still going, but I’m not sure how long it’s scheduled to continue. If you’re planning a trip any time soon I definitely recommend seeing it.
      Also keep an eye on the Disney Blogs (http://disneyparks.disney.go.com/blog/) and sign up for RSS or email newsletter. It’s the best way to keep track of special annual passholder events :)

    • With our annual passholder membership we have access to the passholder section of the Disneyland website. I also watch the Disney parks blog and when they announce events like these I simply RSVP, if you do it early you’re almost guaranteed a spot at the event ^^

Leave a Reply

