Spring in the Orchards

My city is notorious for only having two seasons: hot and cold. The only real sign of a traditional spring is the blooming of the almond trees (I think they’re almond trees anyway). I’ve always wanted to go out there for some photoshoots and to just get some pretty flower macro shots but was always afraid of legal issues and scary farmer men chasing me down the road. So I just opted to enjoy the drive, sometimes slowing down if it’s windy to marvel at the road washed white with blossoms.

However, this year I was welcomed into another group of local photographers and models, and as I watched them plan photoshoots and take clients to the orchards I figured it was more-or-less alright to go in for a personal shoot. So I grabbed a couple friends to go with me and just hang out, shooting whatever we wanted without any real agenda to get done.

It was really nice, considering lately I’ve been lacking inspiration and motivation to go out and just take pictures.

I originally intended this to be an HDR image and keep all the detail in the slightly overcast sky, but it just wasn’t working out so I decided to take the overexposed bracket and run with it.

I liked it at first, but now I’m not so sure how I feel about it… maybe I’ve been staring at it too long. (Update: I’ve made this image available for purchase at both Red Bubble and Fine Art America.)

Bonus portrait!

My friend Raquel is awesome. She’s always willing to pose for portraits to help me beef up my portfolio and get more practice. She’s super supportive too, and such a hard worker she makes me feel tired just listening to everything she does! Crazy lady, but you’re cool so it’s okay.

Leave a Reply

